Dance Poem

Just a nice little dance poem for y’all. I find it hard to explain just how much dance means to me… Sigh… Maybe one day I might be put it into suitable words. Until then this is all I can give you. Many people say dance isn’t hard. Well it is. People tell me that I spend “Too much time at dance,” or that “I never rest,” but you don’t understand is I feel when I dance. It’s what I love to do, and I won’t give that up for anything.

I am a dancer.

I twirl, leap, and spin.

I jump, pirouette, and tap.

I am a dancer.

I feel pain and fear.

I feel defeat and failure.

Yet, I keep going.

I smile, I practice, I perform.

I have grace and beauty.

 

I do not dance because I am happy,

I am happy because I dance.

 

I hear the applause.

I perform and do my best.

Sometimes I fail.

I don’t give up.

For I am a dancer.

I am brave and strong.

I dance not for fame and glory.

But for how I feel inside.

I am happiness, joy, love, and excitement.

Strife, talent, joy.

Determination and beauty.

I am a dancer.

One thought on “Dance Poem

  1. Hello I am Simone and I am twelve years old. I am a dancer too and I loved your poem! I wanted to know if you have your Pointe Shoes yet because I do! I also wanted to know what kind of dace you do (examples: Jazz, Tap, Ballet). I am interested in your blog! Can you come visit mine? Here is my link: http://simonec6.edublogs.org Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *